The topic of voice hearing

The experience of hearing voices is as old as the history of mankind and has been found in many cultures (Watkins 2008). Evaluating voices as possibly positive or negative did change fundamentally when it was finally declared solely pathological in the mid-19th century. Since this time voice hearing had been regarded as the unmistakeable core symptom of a psychiatric disorder and since the 1st half of the 20th century as a core symptom of schizophrenia in particular. 

Since that time voice hearing would normally be considered as distressing in the psychiatric context and as not open to voluntary influence by the voice hearer. The main approach to voice hearing was therefore usually to try to minimise voice hearing with medication or ideally get rid off it entirely. The success rates in this context are, however, for many voice hearers, only partially or not at all applicable. 

This traditional approach has been questioned in particular through the work of Romme and Escher and the Hearing Voices Movement in the last 27 years. 

In a survey in 1987 by Professor Romme and Dr Escher (University of Maastricht) among 450 persons who were hearing voices, 150 people stated that they were coping well with their voices. It also became evident in subsequent research by Romme and Escher, that it was indeed possible to live a normal life when hearing voices, even when medication had not helped.  

This research was of particular interest, since around the same time scientific understanding developed further and recognised that the majority of voice hearers could live well with their experience of hearing voices. 

Learning from these psychiatrically inexperienced voice hearers was particularly important in recent years. A crucial understanding in this context was that it was the respective coping style of the voice hearer which would usually be decisive in whether voice hearers would become patients or not. It appeared to be not helpful to use rather passive explanatory approaches for the voices, which would make it difficult to rise above the voices. For example, when voices were explained with electrical influences such as coming from  the radio or TV. A similarly passive explanation is also denoted by the biological-psychiatric approach, and was found to be of only limited help for persons who wanted to learn to deal constructively with the voices, since the phenomena were removed to outside of their sphere of influence.

"Past civil rights movements did not have any need to show that different people are different either. The Hearing Voices Movement does not need any evidence for its efficacy." (Rufus May - freely quoted - internationally well-known psychologist, in the context of the international Hearing Voices conference in Cardiff, Wales (2013), - calling for the Hearing Voices Movement to be an emancipatory civil rights movement).

Das Thema Stimmenhören

Stimmenhören ist so alt wie die Menschheitsgeschichte und ist in vielen Kulturen belegt (Watkins 2008). Die Bewertung der Stimmen als möglicherweise positiv oder negativ änderte sich grundlegend, als diese Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts als pathologisch eingestuft wurden. Seitdem gilt sie im Regelfall als unverkennbares Kernmerkmal einer psychiatrischen Störung und seit der 1. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts insbesondere als Kernsymptom der Schizophrenie. 

Stimmenhören wurde seitdem im psychiatrischen Verständnis zumeist als belastend und als durch die stimmenhörende Person nicht direkt beeinflussbar definiert. Hauptansatz zum Stimmenhören war daher meist das Stimmenhören zu versuchen mit Medikamenten entweder zu minimieren oder bestenfalls ganz loszuwerden. Die Erfolgsraten waren und sind hier allerdings für einen Großteil der Stimmenhörerinnen nur sehr bedingt oder gar nicht zutreffend. 

Dieses Verständnis wurde insbesondere durch die Arbeit von Romme und Escher und die Stimmenhörbewegung in den letzten 27 Jahren in Frage gestellt. 

In einer Befragung von Prof. Romme und Dr. Escher 1987 (Universität Maastricht) unter 450 Personen die Stimmen hörten, gaben 150 an, gut mit den Stimmen klar zu kommen. Im weiteren Verlauf ihrer Forschung zeigte sich, dass es durchaus möglich war, ein normales Leben mit Stimmenhören zu führen, auch wenn Medikamente nicht geholfen hatten. Diese Forschung war gerade auch deshalb interessant weil gleichzeitig das wissenschaftliche Verständnis dafür entstand, dass die Mehrzahl der Stimmenhörerinnen in der allgemeinen Bevölkerung gut mit ihren Stimmen leben konnten.

Von diesen psychiatrisch unerfahrenen Stimmenhörerinnen insbesondere wurde in den kommenden Jahren viel gelernt. Entscheidend hierbei war, dass der jeweilige Bewältigungsprozess der StimmenhörerInnen gewöhnlich ausschlaggebend war, ob Stimmenhörerinnen zu psychiatrischen Patientinnen wurden oder nicht. Nicht hilfreich schienen eher passivere Erklärungsansätze, die es schwer machten, sich über die Stimmen zu erheben. Wenn also die Stimmen z.B. auf elektronische Einflüsse wie Radio und Fernsehen zurückgeführt wurden. In diesem Sinne ist auch der biologisch-psychiatrische Ansatz für Personen, die lernen möchten, konstruktiv mit den Stimmen umzugehen, regelmäßig nur sehr beschränkt hilfreich, weil er die Phänomene außer Einflussreichweite verschiebt.

"Die vergangenen Bürgerrechtsbewegungen brauchten auch keine Beweise, dass verschiedene Menschen gleichberechtigt sind. Die Stimmenbewegung braucht keine Beweise für ihre Effektivität." (freie Übersetzung eines Zitates von Rufus May, 2012, international bekannter Psychologe, im Rahmen der internationalen Stimmenhörtagung in Cardiff, Wales (2013) - Plädoyer für die Stimmenhörbewegung als emanzipatorische Bürgerrechtsbewegung).