Dr. Joachim Schnackenberg

Joachim Schnackenberg studied mental health nursing (DIP HE in Mental Health Nursing) at the University of the West of England. After qualifying in September 2000 he worked in acute psychiatric settings in Gloucester and Bristol. In June 2000 Schnackenberg attended a training workshop on voice hearing facilitated by Ron Coleman and Mike Smith, which greatly inspired him. 

Coleman subsequently continued to train and supervise Schnackenberg for several years in the application of the efc approach, amongst others for the application of efc in acute psychiatric settings. 

In 2006, in the context of his social work studies at the University of Applied Sciences, Hanover, Germany, Schnackenberg contacted Professor Romme and Dr Escher. He engaged in further training with them to achieve certification as a trainer and supervisor in efc. During this time he also translated "Making Sense of Voices" into German. This translation ("Stimmenhören verstehen") was first published in 2008 and republished in 2013. 

From 2007 to 2015 Schnackenberg worked in community psychiatric services in London. In February 2016 he took on the newly created role of director of voice hearing and recovery in the psychiatric services of the Diakonie Kropp, Northern Germany. 

Joachim Schnackenberg has been co-director and a trainer and supervisor at the efc Institute since 2007. Since 2009 he has also been undertaking research in the area of hearing voices and recovery.

He was awarded the academic degree of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) at the University of the West of Scotland (in collaboration with the University of Applied Sciences, Hanover, Germany) with a mixed-methods effectiveness study. One part of his research was, among others, the first randomised controlled pilot study in Experience Focussed Counselling with voice hearers.

Senait Debesay

Senait Debesay is a trained learning disability nurse as well as a state-recognised therapeutic educator (Diplom-Heilpädagogin (FH)). 

Her special interest is in empowerment. She works in a community-based psychiatric clinic for children and young people in Hanover, Germany. Her special focus in her work with children, young people and families are developmental issues. 

She is also specialised in the topic of selective mutism. 

Debesay has delivered important pioneering work in recent years as she has also been applying the efc counselling approach with children and young people. 

Senait Debesay is a founding member of the trialogical group in Hanover, as well as an efc counsellor for adults. She is also a trainer and supervisor in efc. 

She is the author or co-author of chapter publications on EFC with children and young people.  

Experts by experience

The efc Institute is pleased to have worked and continue to work with a number of different experts by experience in the past and continue to work as part of the efc training/talks team in the future.

 

Current experts by experience

Christian Feldmann (Switzerland); Monika Mikus (Austria); Oana-Mihaela Iusco (Austria); Christian Derflinger (Austria); 

 

Past experts by experience

Suzanne Engelen (Netherlands); Rachel Waddingham (England)

Suzanne Engelen (past, long-time trainer)

From 2008 - 2016 Suzanne Engelen was active as part of the efc training team. She was a very able and inspiring trainer. We thank her for her great commitment over all these years and wish her all the best for her future.

She studied mental health sciences as well as social paedagoy in Maastricht/Netherlands. 

As an expert by experience, she is also an active member of Intervoice. Engelen did work, amongst other things, for Weerklank (Dutch hearing voices network) and the TREE project (recovery focussed training). The TREE project aims to facilitate recovery, empowerment and expertise based on experience. 

Suzanne Engelen has worked as a speaker and trainer on voice hearing and recovery internationally, for example in Belgium, Germany, Scotland, Denmark, Bulgaria, Albania, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, Ireland and Australia.

Dr. Joachim Schnackenberg

Joachim Schnackenberg studierte Fachpflege für Psychiatrie (DIP HE in Mental Health Nursing) an der University of the West of England.

Nach seinem Abschluss im Jahr 2000 arbeitete er in der Akutpsychatrie in Glouster/England und Bristol/England. Im Juni 2000 besuchte Schnackenberg auch eine Fortbildung zum Stimmenhören mit Ron Coleman und Mike Smith, die ihn sehr inspirierte. Coleman coachte Schnackenberg danach für mehrere Jahre in der Anwendung des efc Ansatzes unter anderem für den Einsatz in der Akutpsychiatrie.
2006 nahm er im Rahmen seines Studiums der Sozialen Arbeit an der Fachhochschule Hannover Kontakt zu Prof. Romme und Dr. Escher auf. Er ließ sich von ihnen zum zertifizierten Coach und Supervisor fortbilden und übersetzte das 2008 erschienene Buch "Stimmenhören verstehen“ (Romme und Escher, 2008) ins Deutsche.

Zwischen 2007 und 2015 arbeitete Schnackenberg im ambulant psychiatrischen Dienst in London. Im Februar 2016 übernahm er dann die neu eingerichtete Leitung Stimmenhören und Recovery in der Diakonie Kropp, Schleswig-Holstein.

Seit 2007 ist Joachim Schnackenberg als Co-Leiter des efc Instituts als Fortbilder und Supervisor tätig. Seit 2009 arbeitet er außerdem in der Forschung zum Thema Stimmenhören. 

Für den akademischen Grad des Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) an der University of the West of Scotland (in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hochschule Hannover) führte Schnackenberg eine mixed-methods Effektivitätsstudie durch. Teil seiner Forschung war unter anderem die Durchführung der ersten randomisierten kontrollierten Pilotstudie in der erfahrungsfokussierten Beratung mit Stimmenhörerinnen.

Senait Debesay

Senait Debesay ist Heilerziehungspflegerin, sowie staatlich anerkannte Diplom-Heilpädagogin (FH).

Ihr thematischer Schwerpunkt ist die Empowermentarbeit. Sie arbeitet in einer ambulanten psychiatrischen Praxis für Kinder und Jugendliche in Hannover. Ihr besonderer thematischer Schwerpunkt in der Arbeit mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Familien sind Entwicklungsfragen.

Sie ist außerdem auf das Thema selektiver Mutismus spezialisiert. 

Durch ihre Anwendung des efc Beratungsansatzes hat Debesay in den letzten Jahren wichtige Pionierarbeit auf diesem Gebiet geleistet. 

Senait Debesay ist außerdem Mitglied einer Trialoggruppe in Hannover, sowie efc Beraterin für Erwachsene und ausgebildete efc Fortbilderin und Supervisorin.

Erfahrungsexpertinnen

Oana-Mihaela Iusco

Das efc Institut freut sich, dass es mit einer Reihe von verschiedenen Erfahrungsexpertinnen in der Vergangenheit zusammen gearbeitet hat. Dies wird auch weiterhin einen wichtigen Teil der efc Fortbildungs-/Vortragsarbeit darstellen. 

 

Gegenwärtige Erfahrungsexpertinnen

Christian Feldmann (Schweiz); Monika Mikus (Österreich); Oana-Mihaela Iusco (Österreich); Christian Derflinger (Österreich); 

Oana Iusco ist seit ihrer frühen Kindheit Stimmenhörerin. In ihrem eigenen Recoveryprozess hat sie auch sehr vom efc Ansatz profitiert. Sie arbeitet, steht am Ende ihres Biologie- und Philosophiestudiums, und ist ehrenamtlich in den Bereichen der psychischen Gesundheit bei jungen Erwachsenen und des Stimmenhörens tätig.

 

Vergangene Erfahrungsexpertinnen

Suzanne Engelen (Niederlande); Rachel Waddingham (England)

Suzanne Engelen (ehemalige, langjährige Fortbilderin)

Von 2008 - 2016 war Suzanne Engelen als Teil des efc Fortbildungsteams tätig. Sie war eine sehr fähige und begeisternde Fortbilderin. Wir danken ihr für ihr großes Engagement über all die Jahre und wünschen ihr für ihre weitere Zukunft alles gute.

Sie studierte psychiatrische Gesundheitswissenschaften und Sozialpädagogik in Maastricht/Niederlande.

Sie ist aktives Mitglied bei Intervoice und Expertin aus Erfahrung. Engelen arbeitete unter anderem mit Weerklank (niederländisches Stimmenhörernetzwerk) und dem TREE Projekt (recoveryzentrierte Fortbildungen) zusammen. Das TREE Projekt arbeitet zur Förderung von Recovery, Empowerment und Expertentum aus Erfahrung.

Suzanne Engelen hat als Referentin und Fortbilderin zum Thema Stimmenhören und Recovery im internationalen Raum, u.a. in Belgien, Deutschland, Schottland, Dänemark, Bulgarien, Albanien, Spanien, Österreich, Schweiz, Irland, und Australien gearbeitet.